Dependans of the Sarajevo Museum was named after the permanent exhibition "Sarajevo 1878-1918"
- Working Hours:
Monday - Friday from 10:00AM to 4:00PM
Saturday from 10:00AM to 3:00PM
- Contact phone: +387 33 533 288
- Contact email: email@example.com
- Adress: Abadžiluk 10, 71000 Sarajevo, B&H
Depandans Museum Sarajevo 1878-1918 is located in the building in front of which the Austro-Hungarian heir and his wife were assassinated
Depandans of the Sarajevo Museum was named after the permanent exhibition "Sarajevo 1878-1918", which represents the history of the Austro-Hungarian rule in this area, from the arrival of military troops, through the new administration, changes in living and living culture, to new crafts, economy, architecture, science and art development.
The following topics are shown in the setting: Resistance to occupation; New administrative administration;Culture of living; Cultural and religious-educational societies, printing and publishing; Industryand architecture; Annexation and Bosnian Parliament; Assassination of heir Franc Ferdinand and his wife Sofia and World War I. Depandans Museum Sarajevo 1878-1918 is located in the building in front of which the Austro-Hungarian heir and his wife were assassinated. That’s why they’re in the show roomthe dolls depicting Franc Ferdinand and Sofia in life size are placed in the space.
How to find
Sarajevo Museum 1878–1918
Since 1953, the Sarajevo Assassination Museum has been a part of the Sarajevo Museum, showcasing the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria in 1914. Today, it is called Sarajevo Museum 1878-1918 and represents the period of the Austro-Hungarian Administration in Sarajevo, including the event itself, that is, the 1914 assassination.
Neighborhoods of Sarajevo - Baščaršija
We will start with today's bathing area Bentbaša, which was once known as medieval village of Brodac. The founder of Sarajevo, Isabeg Isaković thought this location was just perfect for establishing a city.
In Baščaršija, he builds Kolobara Han (Kolobara Inn), a hotel in modern terms, which was soon surrounded by a multitude of shops creating the economic basis for the development of the city. Kozja ćuprija bridge (Goat Bridge) was built upstream from the village of Brodac in the 16th century, and today is an easy, half hours walk from Bentbaša along the Dariva Street. Not much is known about Kozja ćuprija, but it is certain that everything came to town through it: armies, caravans, religions, cultures and influences.
There are two traditions about the origin of Kozja ćuprija.
According to the first legend, the bridge was built by the Romans, and the second claims it was built by Mehmed Paša in memory of his childhood when he was just a poor goat shepherd.
According to the legend, one of the goats in his care discovered the hidden treasure. Mehmed used it for his education, became elected to the rank of Pasha and constructed a bridge he called “Goat’s Bridge”. Another permanent stamp was left by Gazi Husrev Beg (Gazi Husrev Bey), the conqueror of Belgrade, the irreplaceable warrior in campaigns of Suleiman the Magnificent, triple Bosnian Steward and Builder. In 1530, with his own money, he built the most monumental building of Islamic culture in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the largest sacral object of Islamic architecture in this part of the world, Gazi Husrev Beg Mosque, sitting on the right bank of the river Miljacka.
Bey Mosque, together with mekteb, wudu inn, two octagonal mausoleums and the clock tower building is the central and largest complex of the “čaršija”, and has had a significant influence on all construction activities in the city.
It is also the first mosque in the world to install electrical lighting.
More on www.visitsarajevo.ba/bascarsija/
You May Also Visit
Stay in touch with lovely Sarajevo?
Follow us to receive the latest update on your journey experience