The History Museum Of Bosnia and Herzegovina
History Museum covers different themes and phases of the history of Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Working Hours:
Monday - Sunday from 9:00AM to 7:00PM
- Contact phone: +387 33 226 098
- Contact email: email@example.com
- Adress: Zmaja od Bosne 5, Sarajevo 71000, B&H
The Museum has a fund of about 300,000 museum artefacts and exhibits.
It was founded in 1945 as the Museum of the Revolution of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and was renamed the History Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina in 1993. The History Museum covers different themes and phases of the history of Bosnia and Herzegovina – often from the perspective of witnesses of the time and of a common person.
This spirit is part of the permanent and the most frequently visited exhibition “Sarajevo under Siege”, which showcases the story about the life of residents during the 1992-1995 siege, illustrating the persistence, resourcefulness, and creativity of the people of Sarajevo during the siege. It is thematically complemented by Jim Marshal’s photo exhibition entitled “15 years”, which testifies to the wartime destruction and the post-war reconstructionof Sarajevo.
How to find
The History Museum of
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Neighborhoods of Sarajevo - Baščaršija
We will start with today's bathing area Bentbaša, which was once known as medieval village of Brodac. The founder of Sarajevo, Isabeg Isaković thought this location was just perfect for establishing a city.
In Baščaršija, he builds Kolobara Han (Kolobara Inn), a hotel in modern terms, which was soon surrounded by a multitude of shops creating the economic basis for the development of the city. Kozja ćuprija bridge (Goat Bridge) was built upstream from the village of Brodac in the 16th century, and today is an easy, half hours walk from Bentbaša along the Dariva Street. Not much is known about Kozja ćuprija, but it is certain that everything came to town through it: armies, caravans, religions, cultures and influences.
There are two traditions about the origin of Kozja ćuprija.
According to the first legend, the bridge was built by the Romans, and the second claims it was built by Mehmed Paša in memory of his childhood when he was just a poor goat shepherd.
According to the legend, one of the goats in his care discovered the hidden treasure. Mehmed used it for his education, became elected to the rank of Pasha and constructed a bridge he called “Goat’s Bridge”. Another permanent stamp was left by Gazi Husrev Beg (Gazi Husrev Bey), the conqueror of Belgrade, the irreplaceable warrior in campaigns of Suleiman the Magnificent, triple Bosnian Steward and Builder. In 1530, with his own money, he built the most monumental building of Islamic culture in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the largest sacral object of Islamic architecture in this part of the world, Gazi Husrev Beg Mosque, sitting on the right bank of the river Miljacka.
Bey Mosque, together with mekteb, wudu inn, two octagonal mausoleums and the clock tower building is the central and largest complex of the “čaršija”, and has had a significant influence on all construction activities in the city.
It is also the first mosque in the world to install electrical lighting.
More on www.visitsarajevo.ba/bascarsija/
You May Also Visit
Stay in touch with lovely Sarajevo?
Follow us to receive the latest update on your journey experience